Click for larger image

Click for larger image

I have previously blogged of the abandoned boats on Smith Island here and here. This particular image has meaning for me personally, but not in a way anyone would realize.

The foreground shows marsh grasses and takes the lower half of the image for a reason. While on Smith Island, it is a good idea to wear boots if one is looking to take images of this sort. Approaching this particular boat with my camera and tripod, at this exact spot my right boot sunk about halfway up to my knee. I was absolutely stuck until I was able to slowly move my leg back and forth enough to be able to slowly pull my leg out. To add insult to injury, this was not simple mud, but marsh grasses that had died and been soaking for quite some time. Think in terms of gutter leaves that have been sitting for many months.

After successful extraction I decided that getting closer to the boat simply was not going to happen, so I set up my tripod and camera and took the picture. This is another case where I used a yellow filter with Konica infrared so to give the sky just a bit of texture, as opposed to severely darkening it, as I felt that it would better match the marsh grasses.

