Russian Heart

Russian HeartSeveral years ago I received a flyer in the mail that talked about arts happenings in Columbia, Maryland. As I opened the folder my jaw dropped as I saw a picture of Mikhail Baryshnikov. For those who know absolutely nothing about ballet, suffice it to say that he is indisputably one of the three greatest male dancers of the past one hundred years.

I immediately called the number on the flyer, wondering if tickets were still available. Not only were they available, but I was able to get a couple of front row seats for myself and my girl friend.

Certainly no longer in his prime, it was absolutely amazing to see that not only was he in tremendous shape, but the fluidity and ease of his moves were so graceful that one might not have seen a loss in his step. He absolutely brought the house down towards the end of his performance by dancing to the Beatles, “Back in the U.S.S.R.

I took many pictures during the show and this is one of my favorites. At the end he took bows and I rose along with everyone else to offer our appreciation. As, I took a few pictures of him receiving this standing ovation from the packed room, an usher ran down the aisle yelling, “No pictures, no pictures,” as everyone with a camera snapped away. Doh, too late!

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Russian Heart

  1. ybonesy says:

    Ah, this is a fabulous picture. Movement, awe, beauty.

Leave a Reply

