Tugboat On The Monongahela

Click for larger image

Click for larger image

The original image was shot on Fuji Velvia film, which was certainly my favorite when shooting slides. It was shot alongside a bridge in Morgantown, West Virginia. I had actually been attracted to the scene because of the fog that formed along the water and after a few shots, I returned to the car. Before getting in the car, however, I took a look back and saw the tugboat coming. I grabbed my camera and ran back to the bridge, in time to take one shot.

I have sold a color version of this print numerous times and always felt that it would work at least as well in black and white. I used the slide to expose a sheet of halftone film, developed with dilute (probably 20:1) Dektol. It was printed using the Van Dyke process.

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Alternative Process, Van Dyke and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tugboat On The Monongahela

  1. Pingback: Mary B « Meanderings, at best

Leave a Reply

