Once, I Was A Princess

Winter and I just do not get along well. In this respect I decided to shoot slow film within my Holga when I was in New York City to lose the shadows and offer a look of grunge when shooting on the street. The day was cold, my hands were freezing, and the resulting images reflected my feelings.

After looking at Joe Wigfall’s image, The Look, I knew that I needed to get this particular image processed. Joe’s work has been an inspiration to me with the work I have recently been doing on the street.

I saw this woman sitting somewhere near 42nd and Broadway, and she looked cold and unhappy. Framed next to the poster of an advertisement for the movie Confessions of a Shopaholic, I thought back to a time in her childhood when she must have played make believe, and at one point played the part of a princess. It is unfortunate that as some people get older, they lose the spirit of play and make believe, as reality rules their life. I have no idea why she turned and looked at me just as I was about to take the picture, perhaps she was hoping that her had prince had come to take her away.

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Street, Toy Camera and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

