Bromoils For Haiti Project

Click for larger image

Click for larger image

Like so many others, I gave to the Red Cross in response to the disaster in Haiti and would like to do more, but I am currently unemployed. So I came up with an idea, and if it works then I will do this on a weekly basis until I find a job.

My idea is to sell some of my Bromoil prints and donate half of the proceeds to the cause.  Each of these prints is on 8×10″ paper, with the image size roughly 8×6″.  Each Bromoil print is individually created and unique, so no two, even of the exact same image, are the same.  This scan is of the print that the winner will receive.  A good explanation of the Bromoil process can be found at alternativephotography.com/process_bromoil.html.

This image was taken in Gredos, Spain, where I spent a week talking with Spanish businessmen and women.  The early morning sun would cast long shadows, and in this case, a modern plastic chair against the very old building that was headquarters to the project at hand.  The image was originally added to my blog at glsmyth.wordpress.com/2008/09/25/morning-gredos-spain/, but close examination will show that it is another version of the print, as each Bromoil is necessarily unique.

Once payment is received, I will donate the proceeds to  The Red Cross to help the victims of the disaster in Haiti.

This print is was available for bidding at eBay, and I will post prints here as they come available.

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Alternative Process, Bromoil and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bromoils For Haiti Project

  1. Karen says:

    What a lovely image.

    This sounds like a good idea. I presume you will eventually post more details about which images will be available, at what cost, and how to buy/bid?

  2. glsmyth says:

    I guess including a link would have been prudent. I have updated the post so that there is a direct link to eBay.

Leave a Reply

