Infrared

Before the Internet became available to everyone, I was a Sysop in the photography section on Compuserve.  We did not have the opportunity to share images at that time and one of the frustrations was trying to explain the Wood Effect to those who had never used infrared film.  It was difficult to have the reader visualize what happens when infrared radiation is captured by the camera.  This resulted in my creation of the Postcard Trading List, where a group of us sent small prints to one another so that we could share what we were working on (a compilation of some of the prints I sent out can be found at Map of the World).

img452a

Click for larger image

img452b

Click for larger image

Last weekend I decided to go to Brunswick, MD to shoot pinhole sieve, but I also took my large format camera with holders containing both Kodak Tri-X and High-Speed Infrared.  At one point I photographed four small trees in front of a train with both films.  So for anyone who has been wondering about the difference since 1986, above are two side-by-side examples that should clarify things.

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Infrared, Kodak and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Infrared

  1. Tom Kappel says:

    George! I’d love to see you do more infrared! The compilation of fantastic pictures from Compuserve days. I was there in other forums as well. I think the pictures you saved would make a wonderful book. Did you develop the negatives and the print?

  2. Tom – Yes, developed the negative and made the print – I still have a working darkroom and am in there on a regular basis. Alas, Kodak’s large format infrared film is just too expensive these days and I do not have many sheets remaining, but I will shoot it when I can.

  3. stevethorley says:

    Great blog post. It’s a shame that there’s not much interest in doing a postcard trading list these days. May be it’s time for a revival, but it would have to be silver gelatin i would fell ripped off if I spent time in the darkroom making a real print and only got an ink jet in return.

    I’d also like took hear more about you early computing, but that would not be appropriate for a photography blog. Where you using DEC machines back then. I’m a Unix guy too.

  4. GLSmyth says:

    Steve – Alas, these days many think that the image on the monitor is the finished product, which is fine for some, but just not me. And yeah, an article about my struggles with the RS6000 might not work in a photography blog.

Leave a Reply

