We Can Be Replaced

Click for larger image

Click for larger image

Before working as a programmer I was an electronics technician, and the second job I had in that field was with Bendix. At that place there was another technician who constantly complained about pretty much everything. At one point he was on one of his “I’ll leave this place and then they’ll be sorry” rants when I asked him how long it took for him to learn the testing machine. He only worked on one area of the testing (actually, at one time or another I worked in all areas of the KG-84A testing and troubleshooting), which was a machine that did pretty much everything for him, so when he proudly replied, “It only took me 15 minutes to learn this job,” I told him that that was how long it would take the company to replace him.

That’s what I thought when I came across this scene in Pittsburgh a couple of weekends ago. We can all be replaced without too much effort.

Of course, that came home to me because today is my last day of work, as I am happily retiring. Even though I have worked at Space Telescope Science Institute for a bit over five years (I still consider myself to be a newbie, as many people have been there for one or two decades), I will be quickly and easily replaced, with someone else taking my duties. That is how it has been with my other jobs, and that is how it will be with this last one.

This is a bit of an exciting time for me. I will start off with my standard Baseball vacation, where I see as many minor league games as possible, shoot a panoramic during each game, and post it to my website. I have 65 ballparks there now and if the weather cooperates I will be able to add 10 more. After that I will be able to spend more time with my photography and will return to writing music, something I left behind many years ago because of time constraints. With that no longer being an issue, I expect to be busy with my passions, as opposed to things that just pay the bills.

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We Can Be Replaced

  1. darkhorseradio says:

    enjoy the retirement George – maybe there’ll be time to revive a podcast?
    (although I find photography much more rewarding)
    Alan

  2. GLSmyth says:

    Believe it or not, I have thought about doing just that, though I may not have the time. Eclectic Mix will remain inert, but Sounds of Ambience or One Minute How-To could re-emerge. Photography will take a chunk of my time, but music composition will be another part. Working with the family papers and spoiling my granddaughter (born Friday) are other things on my list, so time will continue to be my most valuable asset.

  3. Walter says:

    Not retirement, instead the start of a new chapter.

  4. I didn’t know you could retire at age 45. Maybe I should have tried it. Enjoy the lack of a daily grind.

  5. Lyn Arnold says:

    Best wishes for your future. I know that you will enjoy it. Photography, music and family — what could be better!

  6. Congratulations on your retirement – and your grandparenthood! It sounds like an exciting time, full of possibility. I wish you all the best.

  7. stevethorley says:

    Contrasts on the retirement. I look forward to seeing more bromoils in the near future. Before I was an IT guy I was also a ET and have also worked with KG-84’s. Small world.

Leave a Reply

