They Come Out At Night

Click for larger image

Click for larger image

At times the images pile up like slices of bread, some put on a plate to consume now, some stuck in a bag for later, and some crammed in the freezer to be either eaten later or forgot about until the freezer is finally cleaned out.

As a Music Theory and Composition major for part of my college years it has always irked me that writing music was something that had to sit on the sideline during my working career. It is all about choices and one of them was to devote a fair amount of my energies to photography. Not a particularly fast writer, I knew that if I did try to compose music it would be sub-par due to a lack of time. I am finding that my retirement has given me additional time, but there are still only 24 hours in a day. Funny how that works.

But music has always been of high importance to me and I have been working on a few things. This is why I listened with great interest to many of the submissions in the weekly challenge at Disquiet.com. I realized that participating in this would be one way to ease back into composition.

As I was putting together my submission for Junto Project 0246, images started to come into my head and the most prevalent was of a zone plate image that I had created called They Come Out At Night. This piece even got a mention in the Baltimore Sun a couple of years ago but for some reason I had never gotten around to adding it to the blog. I can now consider it added.

About GLSmyth

GLSmyth.com GeorgeSmyth.com
This entry was posted in Infrared, Konica, Lensless, Zone Plate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to They Come Out At Night

  1. fbaron2 says:

    Interesting… As always, thanks….

  2. David says:

    And here I’ve kept promising myself that retirement in 5 or 6 years would finally give me all the time I can’t seem to find for projects ;-) If you can’t do it now…

  3. Wow, I’m glad you did post it – that’s so full of mystery and magic!

    There are never enough hours in the day …

Leave a Reply

